The Canadian Global Affairs Institute provides credible, open access expertise on global affairs. With your support, we can continue to spark impassioned nation-wide discussions designed to help Canadians better understand their role in the international arena.
S U P P O R T   U S

Ross Munro Award 2011

Ms. Rosie DiManno 

Ottawa, 19 September

The Conference of Defence Associations (CDA), in concert with the Canadian Defence and Foreign Affairs Institute (CDFAI), is pleased to announce that Rosie DiManno of the Toronto Star has been selected as the recipient of the 2011 Ross Munro Media Award. The selection committee was unanimous in its decision.

In the best tradition of Canadian journalists - like Ross Munro himself - Rosie DiManno repeatedly puts herself on the troubled or exploding front-lines, most recently in Afghanistan and Libya, and describes events so effectively that we not only get their flavour but we also appreciate some greater issues and options at play. Rosie DiManno's ability to educate and inform the public as to why Canada engages in conflict has earned her tremendous praise from colleagues and readers. In circumstances where most mortals would be striving just to survive, she portrays events and their origins, and subtly raises our awareness of lessons to be learned and at what expense.

A long-time reporter with the Toronto Star, Rosie DiManno has a distinguished history of reporting on security and defence issues, and a deep dedication to pursuing the story irrespective of the risks. DiManno's exceptional journalism informs Canadians with a depth, breadth and incisiveness which enrich her thorough research and hard-won experience. This year Rosie DiManno spent extended periods of time not only in Afghanistan but also in Libya, travelling with the rebels and later reporting from Tripoli, surrounded by government minders.

The Ross Munro Media Award was initiated in 2002 to recognize Canadian journalists who have made a significant and extraordinary contribution to increasing public understanding of Canadian defence and security issues. Recipients of the award have produced outstanding work regarding the efforts of the Canadian Forces in preserving Canadian democratic values. The award consists of a replica of the Ross Munro statue and a cheque for $2,500. Previous recipients of the award are Stephen Thorne, Garth Pritchard, Sharon Hobson, Bruce Campion-Smith, Christie Blatchford, Matthew Fisher, Alec Castonguay, Brian Stewart and Murray Brewster.

The selection committee was chaired by Lieutenant-General (Ret'd) Richard J. Evraire, Chairman CDA. Members of the Selection Committee were Dr. J.L. Granatstein, Canadian Military Historian; Mr. Alec Castonguay, journalist for L'actualité magazine; Mr. Stuart Robertson, of O'Donnell, Robertson & Sanfilippo; and, Colonel (Ret'd) Charles Keple, Vice-Chairman CDA (Public Affairs).

The Award will be presented during the CDA Institute's Vimy Dinner, which will be held on Friday, November 18, 2011 in the LeBreton Gallery of the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa, Ontario.  

Ottawa, 19 septembre - La Conférence des associations de la défense (CAD), de concert avec L'Institut canadien de la défense et des affaires étrangères (ICDAE), est heureuse d'annoncer que Rosie DiManno du Toronto Star a été choisie comme récipiendaire du Prix Média Ross Munro, 2011. Le comité de sélection a été unanime dans sa décision.

Dans la meilleure tradition des journalistes canadiens - comme Ross Munro lui-même - Rosie DiManno est montée maintes fois au front pour affronter des situations difficiles ou explosives (et encore tout récemment en Afghanistan et en Libye), et elle nous décrit les événements d'une façon si efficace que non seulement nous avons la sensation d'être sur place, mais nous en apprécions aussi les enjeux et les options plus larges qui sont en jeu. La capacité de Rosie DiManno d'éduquer et d'informer le public sur les raisons pour lesquelles le Canada s'engage dans des conflits lui a valu d'intarissables éloges de la part de ses collègues et de ses lecteurs. Dans des circonstances où la plupart des mortels se débattraient juste pour survivre, elle trace le portrait des événements et deZleurs origines et nous fait prendre conscience avec subtilité des leçons qu'on devrait en tirer et du prix à payer.

Reporteure de longue date au Toronto Star, Rosie DiManno témoigne d'un passé distingué jalonné d'articles sur les questions de sécurité et de défense, ainsi que d'un engagement profond à poursuivre l'événement quels que soient les risques.  Le journalisme exceptionnel de DiManno informe les Canadiens avec une profondeur, une étendue et une pénétration qui nous révèlent sa recherche approfondie et son expérience chèrement acquise. Cette année, Rosie DiManno a passé de longues périodes non seulement en Afghanistan, mais aussi en Libye, à voyager avec les rebelles, pour ensuite faire des reportages depuis Tripoli, entourée par les sbires du gouvernement.

Le Prix Média Ross Munro fut instauré en 2002 pour rendre hommage à un journaliste canadien ou une journaliste canadienne pour la contribution exceptionnelle qu'il ou elle a apporté à la compréhension, par le public, d'enjeux ayant trait à la défense et à la sécurité du Canada. Les récipiendaires du prix ont produit un travail exceptionnel concernant les efforts que les Forces canadiennes ont déployés pour la préservation des valeurs démocratiques canadiennes. Le gagnant ou la gagnante du Prix Média Ross Munro recevra une réplique de la statue de Ross Munro et un prix en argent de 2, 500$. À date, les récipiendaires de ce Prix décerné annuellement sont Stephen Thorne, Garth Pritchard, Sharon Hobson, Bruce Campion-Smith, Christie Blatchford, Matthew Fisher, Alec Castonguay, Brian Stewart et Murray Brewster.

Les membres du comité de sélection, sous la présidence du Lieutenant-Général (ret.) Richard J. Evraire, président de la CAD, sont M. J.L. Granatstein (Ph.D.), historien militaire canadien, M. Alec Castonguay, journaliste au quotidien L'actualité, M. Stuart Robertson, de O'Donnell, Robertson & Sanfilippo, ainsi que le Colonel (ret.) Charles Keple, vice-président de la CAD (Affaires publiques).

Le prix sera présenté le vendredi 18 novembre 2011, à la Galerie LeBreton du Musée canadien de la guerre, à Ottawa (Ontario), lors du Dîner Vimy de l'Institut de la CAD.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

NATO grapples with grasping China’s transportation clout in Europe

by Sebastian Sprenger (feat. Julian Lindley-French), DefenseNews, March 4, 2021

China Doubles the Number of its Protected Animals

by Dan Southerland (feat. John Gruetzner), Radio Free Asia, March 3, 2021

Saudi Arabia’s shadowy power struggles playing out on Canadian soil

by Tyler Dawson (feat. Thomas Juneau), Kingston This Week, March 2, 2021

One Year After Closing, US-Canada Border Remains Closed

by Craig McCulloch (feat. Laurie Trautman), VOA, March 2, 2021

Canada sighs with relief after Biden, Trudeau meeting

by David M. Shrubman (feat. Colin Robertson), Pittsburg Post-Gazette, February 28, 2021

Canada’s new frigate is getting heavier and more expansive

by David B. Larter (feat. Timothy Choi), DefenseNews, February 26, 2021


Canadian Global Affairs Institute
Suite 1800, 150–9th Avenue SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2P 3H9


Canadian Global Affairs Institute
8 York Street, 2nd Floor
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1N 5S6


Phone: (613) 288-2529
Email: [email protected]
Web: cgai.ca


Making sense of our complex world.
Déchiffrer la complexité de notre monde.


© 2002-2021 Canadian Global Affairs Institute
Charitable Registration No. 87982 7913 RR0001


Sign in with Facebook | Sign in with Twitter | Sign in with Email